Le Fer Hall

Pomeroy Athletic Awards presented at SMWC

News | 05.03.2024

Kevin Lanke, associate director of athletics at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College (SMWC), presented the Inaugural 2024 Pomeroy Athletic Awards during a ceremony held in the Hamilton Arena in the Jeanne Knoerle Sports and Recreation Center. The awards were given to outstanding athletes nominated by their head coaches for their exceptional performance and leadership during the 2023-24 academic year.

Lanke commented, “It’s special to start a new tradition for the SMWC athletic department. Congratulations to all of our individual winners. This has been a tremendous year for Pomeroy Athletics, and these winners showcase that excellence.”

Twelve awards were presented, including spirit, leadership and athletes of the year for fall, winter and spring, as well as athlete of the year. Plaques were presented to both the men’s and women’s winners for each category.

2024 Pomeroy Athletic Awards Winners
  • Men’s Onyx Spirit Award (tie):                                             
    • Jazaiah Douglas                                                                                                                 
    • Andrej Lindner
  • Women’s Onyx Spirit Award:                                               
    • Hope McGuire
  • Men’s Pomeroy Athletic Leadership Award:                   
    • Austin Petrillo
  • Women’s Pomeroy Athletic Leadership Award:             
    • Macie Shirk
  • Men’s Fall Sports Athlete of the Year (tie):                       
    • Thomas Chapman
    • Jeremiah Tosky   
  • Women’s Fall Sports Athlete of the Year:                         
    • Kennedy Trigg
  • Men’s Winter Sports Athlete of the Year:                         
    • Tristan Benskin                                                        
  • Women’s Winter Sports Athlete of the Year:                   
    • Savannah Lewis                               
  • Men’s Spring Sports Athlete of the Year:                          
    • Javian Edwards
  • Women’s Spring Sports Athlete of the Year:                   
    • Krislynn Bailey
  • Men’s Overall Athlete of the Year:                                      
    • Cobie Barnes
  • Women’s Overall Athlete of the Year:                               
    • Lyric Krause